Bridging the models and observations of dust in early galaxies in the JWST era

22-26 April 2024

The exquisite sensitivity of the James Webb Space Telescope (JWST) and its synergy with ALMA, enabled the discoveries of a large number of dust-rich galaxies in the distant universe. The nature of these sources is critical to our understanding of how massive galaxies assemble and how their large dust reservoirs may have been formed at early cosmic times. However, the evolution of dust in and around galaxies is regulated by a complex network of formation and destruction channels, and their exact origins remain an open question, in particular in the early universe. The IFPU focus week “Dust In Trieste” gathers major experts in the field of observational and theoretical dusty galaxy formation and evolution. The meeting will focus on identifying and discussing outstanding questions and the future roadmaps related to galaxies’ ISM dust evolution from the cosmic noon to the EoR and beyond.

Meeting webpage:


  • Darko Donevski (NCBJ Warsaw)
  • Andrea Lapi (SISSA, Trieste)
  • Ambra Nanni (NCBJ Warsaw & INAF OA Abruzzo)


  • Javier Alvarez-Marquez (CAB, Madrid)

  • Tom Bakx (Chalmers University of Technology, Gotheborg)

  • Laura Bisigello (University of Padova)
  • Darko Donevski (NCBJ Warsaw)
  • Andreas Faisst (California University of Technology)
  • Ismael Garcia Bernete (University of Oxford)
  • Carlos Gomez-Guijarro (CEA, CNRS, Paris-Saclay)
  • Yuichi Harikane (University of Tokyo)
  • Isabella Lamperti (CAB, Madrid)
  • Andrea Lapi (SISSA, Trieste)
  • Minju Lee (Technical University of Denmark, Copenhagen)
  • Daizhong Liu (MPE, Heidelberg & Purple Mountain Observatory, Nanjing)
  • Arianna Long (University of Washington)
  • Giuliano Lorenzon (NCBJ, Warsaw & University of Padua)
  • Chris Lovell (University of Portsmouth)
  • Massimiliano Parente (SISSA, Trieste)
  • Francesca Pozzi (INAF, Bologna)
  • Michael Romano (NCBJ, Warsaw & INAF, OA Padua)
  • Allison Man (University of British Columbia)
  • Prasad Savant (NCBJ, Warsaw)
  • Irene Shivaei (CAB, Madrid)
  • Aswin Vijayan (DAWN, Copenhagen & University of Sussex)