Hi intensity mapping in Trieste

IFPU & online
May 23 – 27, 2022

Radio telescopes such as MeerKAT, and in the future SKA, can map the spatial distribution of the low redshift cosmic neutral hydrogen using Intensity Mapping techniques for the 21 cm line. These measurements can unveil the underlying large scale structure of the Universe and contribute in a fundamental way in constraining cosmological parameters. A key challenge is the subtraction of the bright foregrounds, order of magnitude stronger than the 21cm signal. It is, therefore, crucial to assess through simulations the performance of foreground cleaning in realistic scenarios, improving both the sky model and the beam characterization. The SKA Intensity Mapping Focus Group (IM FG) is carrying out important projects to construct realistic mock data cubes for both MeeKAT and the SKA, and to test and compare different foreground cleaning methods. In parallel, the FG is involved in the analysis of MeerKLASS data, an IM Survey with the MeerKAT telescope. In this IFPU activity some of these projects will be finalized and the roadmap for the future discussed.

Reference webpage: https://indico.ict.inaf.it/event/1992/.

Scientific organizers:

  • Marta Spinelli (ETH Zurich)
  • Stefano Camera (University of Torino)
  • Isabella Carucci (University of Torino)
  • Matteo Viel (SISSA)

Other participants at IFPU:

  • Maria Berti (SISSA)
  • Tianyue Chen (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne)
  • Zhaoting Chen (University of Manchester)
  • Steve Cunnington (University of Manchester)
  • Gabriella De Lucia (INAF, Astronomical Observatory of Trieste)
  • Brandon Engelbrecht (University of the Western Cape, Cape Town)
  • Caroline Guandalin (Queen Mary University of London)
  • Stuart Harper (University of Manchester)
  • Pierluigi Monaco (University of Trieste)
  • Andrej Obuljen (University of Zurich)
  • Sara A. Safari (ETH Zurich)
  • Giulio Scelfo (SISSA)
  • Francesco Sinigaglia (University of Padova)
  • Paula Soares (Queen Mary University of London)
  • Junaid Townsend (University of the Western Cape, Cape Town)

Participants from remote:

  • Devin Crichton (ETH Zurich)
  • Jose Fonseca (University of Porto)
  • Pascal Hitz (ETH Zurich)
  • Ricardo Landim (Technische Universität München)
  • Yichao Li (Northeastern University)
  • Siyambonga Matshawule (University of the Western Cape, Cape Town)
  • Alkistis Pourtsidou (University of Edinburgh)
  • Mario Santos (University of the Western Cape, Cape Town)
  • Jinying Wang (Shanghai Astronomical Observatory)
  • Laura Wolz (University of Manchester)